top of page
  • Writer's pictureHannah Stadtfeld

Nursery Tour

Ever since getting my baby shower gifts to the house I have been working hard to set up our little girl's nursery. When I originally told my friends I was planning for the theme to be bohemian llamas, I think they thought I was a little crazy. And they were right. bohemian llamas sounded like the perfect combination of goofy and adorable to me, which is exactly how I like to live my life. It ended up so much better though than I expected. With new and old personal touches all throughout the room it is the perfect space for our baby.


The first thing you see when you open the nursery door is the crib. It is a gold metal crib that Ryan's parents were nice enough to get us. The pink crocheted blanket hanging from the front was crocheted by my grandma and was mine when I was a baby. We went with organic cotton crib sheets which were gifted by one of my cousin's. Her name on the wall was decorated by the guests at my baby shower as one of the activities there. The dream catcher on the wall was a birthday gift from my brother the year I turned 19 and was first moving into my own apartment. The black sign on the wall was also from my grandma, is the rocking llama with the flower crown. One of my favorite decorations in this part of the nursery though is the floral bow hanging below her name. It used to be my Great Grandma's and I think it will be so cool to tell our daughter one day that one of her Great Great Grandma's decorations hung above her crib.

The table behind her crib is not just a table. It is three storage crates my grandma painted that I stacked on top of each other so it is a table, but it also doubles as storage. Inside I organized some of the things she will not need for a while like children's dish and silverware, and some toys for when she is older. On top is a tea set we received as a shower gift from one of my cousins, a llama picture drawn by my mom's friend and a few other cute decorations.




Next we have my little nursing area. The glider is from my grandma, I already love rocking in it. The pillow on top is from my parents, it says, "The most important thing is, even if we're apart I'll always be with you." It is very special to me because I have always loved Winnie The Pooh and the nursery that my parents brought me home to was decorated with Winnie The Pooh. The Llama blanket was also a shower gift (and I am just now noticing that it is hanging there upside down lol). The banner with her name on the wall was ordered off etsy by my mom, and each of the little pictures were chosen as shower decorations, with the exception of the bottom one. A dear friend of my mom framed some vintage playing cards and painted the picture frame. It is so unique and probably one of my favorite wall decorations in her nursery!


And of course, what crunchy mama nursery would be complete without a salt lamp? Honestly I'm not sure if I believe in the benefits listed on the box, but it does look nice, the glow at night is soothing, and if it happens to purify the air in the process then that's just an added bonus! The blue container was made for me 2 years ago by one of my good friends. I'm thinking I will use it as a collection place for little nursing odds and ends. Inside the round floral boxes and socks, extra hats and tiny shoes and the crates are a few crocheted blankets made by friends. The Llama decorations were from the shower.



Lastly is the changing table. It's the same changing table that my brother and I were changed on when we were babies and was made by my dad and as you can see, there is a lot going on here! Off on the left side is a llama bag from my grandma that I have a few odds and ends inside (and hey, no one can deny that it just looks adorable hanging there!). I have a stainless steel diaper pail that was a shower gift. Funny enough, my parents HIGHLY recommended the stainless steel because when I was born their plastic diaper pail apparently did NOT smell too good, though, they also said that if I did not have the plastic Diaper Genie (smell and all) that I might not really get the FULL (and rather smelly) parenting experience! Haha! Anyways I won't go over everything on here, but I will say that my favorite decorations on the changing table are the Llama picture on the bottom shelf that was colored by my grandma and then the soft llama on the middle shelf on the left, because that was made by my brother.


All in all I am really happy with how the nursery turned out. I have already made so many good memories and cannot wait to make even more with my little girl.


13 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page